Scoring Points- Basketball Players of the Year

Team FYN Sports
scoring points

The FYN Sports writing staff was bale to sit down after the basketball season concluded and give out out postseason awards.

This was a crazy basketball season across all states that FYN covers, and we saw an unprecedented amount of teams advance to at lease the Sweet 16 of either the GHSA or NCHSAA state playoffs.

There was more talent in the area than there ever has been some might say, which made giving out these awards that much harder.

We selected Area Players of the Year, which were the best mens and womens players out of all 25+ counties that FYN covers in Georgia, North Carolina and Tennessee; And we also selected state players of the year, the best players in their respective states


Mens Area Player of the Year- Kolby Moss

Moss led the Towns County Mens Basketball team to its first ever State Championship, while also breaking the schools scoring record along the way! Moss picked up an offer from Young Harris College Basketball and we look forward to watching him play just down the road if thats what he decides to do!

Womens Area Player of the Year- Torin Rogers

Rogers led the Murphy Lady Bulldogs to their second straight State Title game as a Junior! She was the main source of offense for the Bulldogs, while also leading the team in rebounding. We look forward to covering Torin in her senior year as she has her team striving for a 3 peat!


Georgia Coach of the Year- Ryan Chastain

Georgia Girls Player of the Year- Becca Ledford

Georgia Boys Player of the Year- Jake McTaggart


North Carolina Coach of the Year- Ray Gutierrez

North Carolina Girls Player of the Year- Desta Trammell

North Carolina Boys Player of the Year- Kolbe Ashe

All Area Boys Team- 

North Carolina Boys Player of the Year- Kolbe Ashe

Kolbe Ashe- Hayesville

Abram Abling- Murphy

Nathan Collins- Robbinsville

Jake McTaggart, Aidan Berrong, Kolby Moss- Towns County

Gus Faulkner, Jones Harris- Lumpkin

Joakim Celestin, Jake Craft- Dawson

Cade Carter- Gilmer

Jadon Yeh- White County

Tucker Lowe, Luke Rogers- Pickens

Kaeden Twiggs – Fannin

Caleb John- Union


All Area Girls Team-

Torin Rogers, Sarah Pullium- Murphy

Desta Trammell- Robbinsville

Isabel Davenport, Mackenzie Caldwell- Lumpkin

Maddie Anglin- Dawson

Dasha Cannon- White County

Vanessa Floyd- Towns County

Ava Hunter- Union County

Becca Ledford, Abby ledford, – Fannin County

Emma Callihan, Elli Callihan- Gilmer

Cassidy Richards, Amanda Nelson- Pickens



Leave a comment

Back to Top